Knowledgebase
Completely remove DesignBuilder v3 from a computer
Posted by Andy Tindale on 24-Apr-18 08:02 AM

PLEASE NOTE: ONLY TO BE USED FOR DESIGNBUILDER VERSION 3 SOFTWARE


Under certain circumstances it can be useful to completely remove all traces of previous DesignBuilder installations from a computer in order to start from scratch. To do this follow the instructions below.

1. If you have previously installed a version of v4 you should make sure to deactivate your v4 licence before following the following instructions below, otherwise you will lose your v4 activation. To do this you will need to have v4 installed.

2. Please note that by following these instructions you will also delete your Component,Template and Weather data libraries. To avoid this you should export your libraries before removing DesignBuilder using the File > Export > Library data menu command from the opening screen. You should also make copies of any weather files you wish to keep.

You will need Administrator privileges on the machine to carry put this procedure.

1. If you haven't done so already, set your Folder Options so you can see hidden files, folders and drives:

          On Windows XP:
        
              From an Explorer window:
            
                  i) Tools -> Folder Options ...
                
                  ii) Click the view tab
                
                  iii) Select "Show hidden files, folder and drives"
                
                  iv) Click Ok.
        

          On Windows Vista, Windows 7 and Windows 8:
        
              From an Explorer window:
            
                  i) Organize -> Folder and Search Options
                
                  ii) Click the view tab
                
                  iii) Select "Show hidden files, folder and drives"
                
                  iv) Click Ok.
        
2. Stop the simulation manager (only applicable to versions after 3.1.0.088):

          On Windows XP:

              i) Open an explorer window and navigate to C:\Documents and Settings\<your username>\Local Settings\Application Data\DesignBuilder\JobServer
             
              ii) double click deleteservice.bat

          On Windows Vista, Windows 7 and Windows 8:

              i) Open an explorer window and navigate to C:\Users\<your username>\AppData\Local\DesignBuilder\JobServer
             
              ii) right click deleteservice.bat - select "Run as administrator"
 

3. Uninstall DesignBuilder using 'Add/remove programs' accessed from the Windows Control Panel.

        
4. Delete the following folders, if they exist:

          On Windows XP:

              C:\Program Files\DesignBuilder
              C:\Documents and Settings\<your username>\Local Settings\Application Data\DesignBuilder
              C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\DesignBuilder

          On Windows Vista, Windows 7 and Windows 8:

              C:\Program Files\DesignBuilder
              C:\Program Files (x86)\DesignBuilder
              C:\ProgramData\DesignBuilder
              C:\Users\<your username>\AppData\Local\DesignBuilder\
              C:\Users\<your username>\AppData\Local\VirtualStore\Program Files\DesignBuilder
              C:\Users\<your username>\AppData\Local\VirtualStore\Program Files (x86)\DesignBuilder
              C:\Users\<your username>\AppData\Local\VirtualStore\ProgramData\DesignBuilder

Note that having followed the above steps, on reinstalling DesignBuilder you will need to reactivate your license.